A great back-and-forth

It’s time like this that I remember why I love the unique world of blogging.

A few days ago, an edition of Ten Minutes of Torah written by Lewis M. Barth appreared. This issue suggested (gasp) that Reform Jews might begin to observe Tishah B’Av.

Then, over at RJ.orga post written by Rabbi Joel R. Schwartzman appeared expressing extreme discomfort with Barth’s ideas.

I found Rabbi Schwartzman’s thoughts interesting, but I disagreed. So today, also over at RJ.org, you can read my vehement disagreement with Rabbi Schwartzman.

They say that when three people sit and excahnge words of Torah, the Divine Presence resides with them. I wonder if it counts if the three people are nowhere near each other pysically?

2 responses to “A great back-and-forth

  1. i think it counts:-)

  2. Drop by my blog to see my own thoughts on the Temple.

    I won’t be fasting Tisha b’Av, but I will be commemorating it with my congregation, and we will hear at least some of Eichah. My own thoughts are that our movement should accord it the same kind of recognition it accords Yom HaShoah, for the same reasons.

Leave a Reply

