What if I don’t go back to Kutz?

I have spent the last three summers of my life at Kutz. I have gotten a lot out of it, including friends, knowledge, direction and dare I say wisdom. And yet yesterday those of us who were on staff this last summer recieved the following e-mail from Rabbi Eve, the camp director:

“I am writing to let you know some important structural changes that are taking place at Kutz effective today, September 28, 2007. After four years as our Site Manager, Wendy Cedar will be moving on to other endeavors. Her duties will be assumed by me, Denise Bulnes and a host of part time retreat staff members. We thank her for all she has done for Kutz and wish her well. After twelve years of service, Annette Preda, will be moving on to other endeavors. Her duties will be assumed by Denise Bulnes, the Kutz Camp Bookkeeper, as well as members of the New York URJ Youth Division staff. We also thank Annette for all she has done for Kutz and wish her well.”

Right. I obviously won’t even pretend to know the whole story here, but I’m a more than a little ticked. Kutz undergoes major structural changes every damn year, never trying anything long enough to know whether it is working. I know there are financial pressures bearing down on Kutz all the time, but the two women let go basically run the damn place. I had been seriously considering not returning next summer, but this has pushed me over the edge. Unless someone deems it a good idea to give me a nice faculty position, I don’t see myself at Kutz again in the near future. It saddens me to say it, but there it is.

In other news, what if I did this?

In other other news, how do we all like the new look for the blog header?

5 responses to “What if I don’t go back to Kutz?

  1. I might be in Vilnius this summer TOO!!!! The Wilenskys in Vilnius, what?!

  2. Nice flag.

  3. “I obviously won’t even pretend to know the whole story here, but…” that won’t stop me from judging everyone involved. I mean, what do facts have to do with anything when I can get a good self-righteous rant going?

    You might be completely justified in your feelings. You might be completely right that there is some nefarious plot to utterly destroy Kutz from the inside. But to say up front, “hey I know nothing about the situation, but I’m going to comment anyway” completely undercuts anything you might have to say that is valid. It does, however, qualify you to become a Sunday Morning News Pundit.

    As for the header, I don’t like being flipped off. Nor is it clever or social commentary.

  4. I have not judged everyone involved. I make no judgements of Rabbi Eve or any other staff involved. When I said, “Kutz undergoes major structural changes every damn year, never trying anything long enough to know whether it is working. I know there are financial pressures bearing down on Kutz all the time, but the two women let go basically run the damn place.” All of that I have observed to be true.

    I do not appreciate your putting words into my blog so as to say that I have claimed that there is “some nefarious plot to utterly destroy Kutz from the inside.” I made no claim that anyone is doing anything wrong intentionally. I meant merely that the institution is ill be variety of reason and I don’t want to be around for that
    ongoing process any longer.

    As for “a good self-righteous rant” this is nothing compared to some of the bile and crap I’ve spewed over the years. This is downright calm compared to some of my rants of old.

    As for the being flipped off, that’s been there for weeks and it’s not going anywhere. I was asking more about the new way of displaying the title with flags and everything.

  5. Pingback: Kutz is alright. Stop freaking out. «

Leave a Reply

