Christian Quote Watch: Pslams 40:2

I saw a t-shirt on the bus today with a big cross on it and this sentence: “Let him give you a hand.” It attributed the quote to Pslam 40, verse 2. I looked it up. In fact, the verse this was attributed to says:

קַוּה קִוִּיתִי יהוה וַיֵּט אֵלַי וַיִּשְׁמַע שַׁוְעָתִי

JPS gives is a rather different translation:

“I put my hope in the Lord;
He inclined toward me,
and heeded my cry.”

I’m totally baffled in the face of the rather succinct, but wholly unrelated version I saw on the bus today.

Shabat Shalom.

One response to “Christian Quote Watch: Pslams 40:2

  1. Not to defend the poor Christian who can’t read Hebrew, but I would have read that as a statement backed with scriptural evidence, not as a translation of the verse. Sorry to respond to such a tiny post, more than three years later. lol

Leave a Reply

