38 and some old (new to me) sidurim

Day 38 yadda yadda Omer blah blah blah.

Yesterday was my mother’s birthday. Oddly, I recieved a present from her. She picked up a couple of sidurim for me at a Judaica shop in Vienna (correct in the comments if I’m wrong, Mom) several weeks ago while on vacation.

The first, this slim black volume, is part 9 of a set of sidurim.

Its cover is black cloth, with a great impression design thing on it featuring the two tablets, a kohen’s breastplate and a variety of festival-realted symbols including a shofar.

As you can see below, this sidur or, in German, this gebetbuch, is for Shmini Atzeret and Simchat Torah and it comes with a parallel “targum Ashkenazi,” or German translation. It was published in 1917 in Frankfurt am Main by Drud und Berlag van M. Lehrberger & Co. The translation is by Pinchas Halevi Bamberger, or Rabbi Dr. Selig Bamberger, who according to this site, was also responsible for a German translation of Tanach.

Here’s a shot of the side-by-side translation. You can see how the Shma is clearly set apart in the translation. You don’t have to know German to notice it.

The other sidur I was given has a green cover with similar symbols to the black one on its cover. It was part 2 of a set.

It was published in 5630 (or 1871) by Verlag von Josef Schlesinger’s Buchhandlung, which was located at no. 5 Seitenstattengasse. This sidur is for Pesach, Shavuot, Sukot, and Shimini Atzeret in the Sfarad minhag.

You can see that the instructions are written in a different typeface, some kind of Rashi script, I think.

So that’s way fun.

And now, the Omer:

5 responses to “38 and some old (new to me) sidurim

  1. “So that’s way fun.”

    Hee! Fun with old foreign siddurim!

    David, you know if I wasn’t already happily married and 15 years too old for you and geographically undesirable…….

    Thanks for sharing this. And how cool of your mom to find and buy these for you, and not make you wait until your birthday to give them to you.

  2. Gee, Randi, I’m flattered.

    PS- I’m gonna guess that my mother wouldn’t have been able to wait until my birthday. I think she would’ve gone nuts before spring arrived.

  3. The bookstore was in Josefov (the Jewish Quarter in Prague). I’m pretty sure it was at this place: Antikvariat Ptolomaeus http://www.ptolomaeus.com/

    Is the Rashi script Yiddish? I can’t make out any of it in these pics. Well, maybe a definite article: dalet-ayin-reysh spelling der possibly.

    I’d have survived until the Spring, but what if I’d stored them in That Special Place where everything seems to disappear?

  4. Pingback: 44 and more old sidurim! «

  5. Pingback: 49 and done! «

Leave a Reply

