Shabos Zmiros – Kirtan Rabbi

Crossposted to Jewschool.

Though I usually scoff at anyone attempting to meld Jewish and Eastern spirituality, Kirtan Rabbi caught my ear. An e-mail promoting an upcoming Kirtan Rabbi event I recieved from Andrew Hahn, the Kirtan Rabbi himself, today explains Kirtan Rabbi like this:

Kirtan is call-and-response devotional chant, originally developed in India; it is a practice where you are the performers. It is at once meditative, ecstatic, and – most of all – simply fun! Bring your voices and dancing socks.

Hareini M’kabel Alai:

While working for Limmud NY, I was given a copy of a Kirtan Rabbi live at B’nai Jeshurun CD. Though I feel that I probably would scoff if I ever attended an actual Kirtan Rabbi event, the recording itself is great. It makes a perfect addition to my Shabos Zmiros playlist, the playlist I listen to all day every Friday in preparation for Shabat. Enjoy.

Hashivi Li S’soneich (with vocals by Ariel Rosen):

And that event the e-mail was about? More about that here.

Shabat Shalom.

5 responses to “Shabos Zmiros – Kirtan Rabbi

  1. Pingback: Yom Rishon Zmiros–new track from Kirtan Rabbi and Kaddish thoughts | Jewschool

  2. Pingback: New track from Kirtan Rabbi and some Kaddish thoughts «

  3. Pingback: Kirtan Rabbi’s new album “Achat Sha’alti” « The Infinite Shabbos Playlist

  4. thanks David. This is amazing stuff. I live in Yerushalayim – is Kirtan in Israel as well or are they strictly an US phenomenon?

    Shabbat shalom

  5. I don’t know. My guess is that there’s some kirtan in Israel, given the obsession with India over there. But I doubt that there’s Jewish kirtan.

Leave a Reply

