Invest in me

Crossposted to New Voices and Jewschool.

I have a friend, X.  X college graduate. X wants to do a variety of Jewish learning and then go to a rabbinical school. X also has what basically amounts to no money.

X also works for a Jewish non-profit that has a wealthy executive director.

We were just chatting and I asked if X minded telling me how X plans on paying for X’s education. After first saying, “A lot of prayer,” X told me about a few options and then said…

…that X is hoping the rich executive director, who likes X a lot, will be willing to invest in X.

Which got me thinking. Rich Jews should invest in young, not rich Jews.

We have Jewish start-up organization investment stuff going. But we don’t have individuals investing in individuals.

Bikkurim is an organization that invests in organizations. Joshua Venture is an organization that invests in individuals who have specific projects that they’re already working on (I think).

But I think rich Jews should just invest in young Jews who need more money to get more education so they can be better at stuff. Or something.

I’m kind of kidding. Kind of. But also, if you wanna invest in me, that would be cool.

Or you could invest in X. If you want me to set you up with X, I can do that too.

Think about it.

5 responses to “Invest in me

  1. These things happen frequently and anonymously. Leaders in the community (like congregational rabbis and non-profit directors) are generally pretty good at matching up worthy recipients with people who have the means and the desire to help.
    The anonymity component is important, as the recipient benefits from not feeling obligated to the source, and the source is protected from being besieged by other worthy individuals.

  2. This is kind of why places like Pardes and Hadar have scholarships – people invest in the institution, which has the skills and experience to choose young people in whom to invest.

    • Yes, and I’m certainly aware of that too. What I’m saying is that it would be great if there were rich people who would invest in the entire educational process of a young Jews or something like that.

  3. Pingback: Invest in Me « New Voices

  4. Pingback: Help me get money | The Reform Shuckle

Leave a Reply

