I need teddy bears on my kippah

This morning, on the 2 train, around Park Place:

A younger guy with his 3- or 4-year-old kid got on the subway, both wearing solid black kippot, tzitzit hanging out, payot tucked behind their ears, etc. They came to sit next to me and I noticed that the little boy’s kippah had four plastic teddy bear buttons sown on around the edge.

I told the dad I thought the teddy bears were great.

He passed to compliment on to his son, “Hey, he likes your yamukkah.”

Then he turned back to me and said, with a little smirk, “It’s the only way we could get him to wear it.”

“They still can’t get me to wear one,” I said.

His reply: “Maybe you need teddy bears on your yamukkah.”

8 responses to “I need teddy bears on my kippah

  1. Do they make siddur-shaped buttons? Perhaps in green?

  2. Larry Kaufman

    Abba Hillel Silver was of the generation that wouldn’t wear yarmulkes. When derech eretz required him to wear a head covering, his chapeau of choice was a black homburg. I saw him thus once, in a sea of white kippot, black-hatted and black-suited, looking the quintessential Charedi (a term that we didn’t know in those days).

  3. Pingback: Kippot and my commute, part II; New Jersey Jewish News, part II | The Reform Shuckle

  4. Little acorns wear kippahs and become mighty oaks.

Leave a Reply

